As you know, texting while driving is both illegal and unsafe. In fact, New York State was the first state across the country to make it illegal to use a handheld mobile device while operating a motor vehicle, and since then, the penalties for doing so have only become more severe. Texting while driving has become a national threat to all motorists on the road, however, most of us are guilty of looking down, even for a split second, whether to check a GPS, send a quick text, or otherwise. Unfortunately, if you were caught texting while driving and were charged with a cell phone violation, there is a very good chance that you may face serious penalties as a result. Please continue reading and speak with our Rockland County traffic violations attorney to learn more about cell phone violations and how our firm can help if you are charged with one. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding the legal process ahead:
What are the penalties for texting while driving in New York?
When someone is charged with texting while driving, they will face a multitude of serious penalties. Among them, high fines and points on their license. The penalties for texting while driving in New York are as follows:
- First offense: Potential fine between $50-$200, as well as 5 points on your driver’s license.
- A second offense within 18 months of a previous violation: Potential $20-$250 fine, as well as 5 points on your driver’s license.
- Third or subsequent offense cell phone violation within 18 months: Potential $50-$450 fine, as well as 5 points on your driver’s license.
What happens if I get points on my driver’s license?
Obtaining points on a license is an extremely serious matter. In many cases, those who receive 6 or more points within 18 months will have to take the Driver Responsibility Assessment, wherein they will have to pay a $100 fine every year for three years. If you receive 11 points on your license, you will most likely have your license suspended. If you are a junior or probationary driver and receive points on your license, you will face a 120-day license suspension, and if you receive another ticket within six months of the suspension, you may lose your right to drive for at least one year.
Contact our experienced Rockland County firm
Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.