Drug DWIs in New York State | What You Need to Know

Drug DWIs in New York State | What You Need to Know

Everybody knows that when someone drives under the influence of alcohol and is arrested, they will most likely receive a DWI. That being said, you should also note that if you drive while under the influence of drugs, such as marijuana, and are arrested for doing so, you may also receive a DWI. Please continue reading and reach out to our experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn more about the DWAI-drug penalties and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

Can I get a DWI for driving while under the influence of drugs?

Yes, you can, and doing so is a very serious offense that comes with significant consequences. For driving under the influence of drugs in NYS, you will most likely face the following penalties:

  • You will most likely face a six-month license suspension.
  • Up to one year of jail time.
  • You will most likely have to pay fines between $500-$1000, on top of state surcharges and assessment fines.

Will I go to jail if I am caught driving under the influence of drugs a second time?

If this is your second time being arrested for a drug DWI, you are looking at a Class E Felony, which comes with the following penalties:

  • You will lose your driving privileges for up to one year.
  • Up to 4 years of incarceration.
  • You will face fines between $1,000-$5,000, on top of state surcharges and fines. You will also most likely have to enroll in the IDP and pay additional costs.

What happens if this is my third drug DWI offense within 10 years?

A third drug DWI in New York State is a very serious crime, and if this is your third offense within 10 years, you are looking at jail time, heavy fines, and a criminal record that can haunt you for years to come. For a Class D Felony, you will face the following consequences:

  • For a third drug DWI, you will most likely spend up to 7 years in jail.
  • You may lose your driving privileges for at least one year.
  • You may face fines up to $10,000, on top of state surcharges and assessment fees.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts