This Fourth of July, you can bet that we will see a huge spike in DWIs. Everybody knows it is both illegal and unsafe to drive under the influence, however, people still make mistakes and do so. If you are someone who has recently been charged with a DWI in New York State, it is in your best interests to continue reading and reach out to our Rockland County criminal defense attorney today to learn more about the potential consequences you may face, as well as how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI in New York State?
If you are expecting nothing more than a “slap on the wrist,” so to speak, for your first offense, you have another thing coming–especially without an experienced attorney on your side. For a first-offense DWI, you may face the following consequences:
- You may have your license revoked 6 months
- You may have to spend 1 year in jail
- You may also have to enroll in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
- Fines of up to $1,000
What happens if I am charged with a second DWI in New York?
If you are arrested for a second DWI in the last 10 years, you will most likely face the following penalties:
- You may have your license revoked for at least 1 year.
- You may face up to $5,000 in fines.
- You may spend up to 4 years in jail.
- You will most likely be required to enroll in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
Will I lose my license forever if I am convicted of a third DWI in New York State?
Though it is not guaranteed that you will lose your license forever, there is a chance, especially if this is your third DWI in 10 years. Furthermore, you may face a wide array of additional harsh penalties, which is why you cannot afford to proceed without an experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney at your side. The potential consequences for a third DWI in New York State are as follows:
- You may have to spend up to 7 years in jail.
- You will lose your license for at least one year, though most likely for far longer.
- You may face up to $10,000 in fines, as well as additional state surcharges.
Contact our experienced Rockland County firm
Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.