Have You Received a DWI in NY this Halloween? Here is What You Should Know.

Have You Received a DWI in NY this Halloween? Here is What You Should Know.

Halloween is among the most widely-celebrated holidays every year, and if you are someone who celebrated by attending a costume party, there is a very good chance you had a drink or two. Of course, this is totally fine, as long as you did not plan on driving afterward. That being said, if you did drive after having a couple of drinks and received a DWI, you are most likely now facing serious consequences. There are few things more damaging to a person and his or her record than receiving a DWI. As you know, a DWI can affect multiple facets of your life, including your ability to drive, retain employment, and you will also obtain a criminal record. The bottom line is that if you were charged with a DWI this Halloween, you need the assistance of an experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney. Our firm is here to help you through every step of the process ahead. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the consequences of a first-offense DWI in NYS?

Even if this is only the first time you’ve been charged with a DWI, you risk jail time, a license suspension, and other penalties. They are as follows:

  • You may lose your license for 6 months
  • A potential $1,000 fines
  • Enrollment New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • You face a 1-year jail sentence

Will I go to jail for a second DWI in New York?

If this is your second DWI in the last 10 years, you risk facing up to 4 years of jail time, on top of the following additional penalties:

  • A possible $5,000 fine
  • You may lose your license for one year
  • You will most likely have to enroll, at your own cost, in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)

What happens if I am charged with a third DWI in NY in the last 10 years?

For a third DWI in New York State, you cannot proceed without hiring an experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight your charges, some of which are as follows:

  • Up to 7 years in jail
  • If this is your third DWI offense in 10 years, you may receive a permanent license revocation
  • You may have to pay up to 10,000 in fines, on top of state surcharges.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • If you were charged with a DUI this Thanksgiving Weekend, read this blog and contact our firm to learn more about the consequences of DUIs in New York. 
  • Read this blog and speak with our Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn about the consequences of a DWI with a minor in the vehicle. 
  • Read this and speak with our Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn about juvenile crimes and how he can help if your child is charged with one.