Labor Day DWIs in New York State | What You Need to Know

Labor Day DWIs in New York State | What You Need to Know

This Labor Day, many people will celebrate by having a drink or two with their friends and family. Of course, there is absolutely nothing wrong with doing so, as long as those who drink do not drive afterward. That being said, if you are someone who is caught driving under the influence of alcohol, you should understand that there are few things more damaging to a record that receiving a DWI in New York State. For this very reason, you should also understand that if you are charged with a Labor Day DWI, you cannot afford to proceed without the assistance of an experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney. Here are some of the questions you may have about the consequences you may face?

Will I go to jail if I get a DWI in New York State?

Chances are, you will most likely not go to jail for a first-offense DWI, however, under certain circumstances, you may spend up to one year in jail, which is why even for a first offense, you cannot risk going it alone. Some additional consequences you may face for a first-offense DWI in New York are as follows:

  • A 6-month license revocation
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP), at your own cost

What are the penalties for a second Rockland County DWI?

If by some chance, you have received a DWI in the last 10 years, and this is your second DWI, you are now looking at the following consequences:

  • A $5,000 fine
  • A potential 4-year jail sentence
  • A 1-year license revocation
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP), at your own cost

What are the chances that I will go to jail for the third DWI in NYS?

If this is your third DWI in the last 10 years, you cannot afford to wait another day without hiring an experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney. Without one, you risk the following penalties:

  • A 7-year jail sentence
  • A years-long license suspension that can affect your life for years to come
  • Up to $10,000 in fines, compounded by additional state surcharges.

The bottom line is that if you have been charged with a DWI, you must pick up the phone and give us a call today. We are here to help you.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • Read this blog to learn more about marijuana-related charges in New York State and how our NY criminal defense attorney can help you fight them. 
  • Read this blog and speak with our New York CDL DWI attorney today to learn more about how he can help you fight your CDL DWI charges. 
  • Read this blog and speak with our Rockland County DWI attorney to learn more about Labor Day DWIs in New York and how our firm can help you.