Marijuana-Related Charges in New York State | What You Need to Know

Marijuana-Related Charges in New York State | What You Need to Know

There are few things more damaging to a person than obtaining a criminal record. Though low-level marijuana charges have been decriminalized in New York State, it is still possible to spend time in jail and have a criminal record for a marijuana-related conviction that may follow you for the rest of your life. Our firm is here to help. Please continue reading and reach out to our knowledgeable Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn more about the consequences you may face for a marijuana-related charge and how our firm can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the penalties for the possession of marijuana in NYS?

To start, fortunately, if you are caught with 28 grams or less of marijuana in New York, it is only a civil penalty which will result in a simple $50 fine. For possession of a maximum of 2 ounces, it’s a $200 fine. After that, if you are caught with any more than 2 ounces of marijuana, you are most likely looking at criminal penalties. Those consequences are as follows:

  • Up to 8 ounces: This is a misdemeanor charge that can warrant up to 1 year in jail, as well as a potential $1,000 fine.
  • Up to 1 pound: This is a felony charge that can warrant up to 4 years in jail, as well as a potential $5,000 fine.
  • Up to 10 pounds: This is a felony charge that may warrant up to 7 years in jail, as well as a potential $5,000 fine.
  • More than 10 pounds: This is a felony charge that can warrant up to 15 years in prison, as well as a potential $15,000 fine.

Will I go to jail for selling marijuana in New York?

In many cases, the answer is yes–especially without the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney at your side. The consequences of selling marijuana in NY are as follows:

  • 25 grams of less: This is a misdemeanor charge that may warrant up to 1 year in jail, as well as a potential $1,000 fine.
  • Up to 4 ounces: This is a felony charge that may warrant up to 4 years of incarceration, as well as a potential $4,000 fine.
  • Up to 1 pound: This is a felony charge that may warrant up to 7 years in jail, potential $5,000 fine.
  • More than 1 pound: This is a felony charge that may warrant up to 15 years of incarceration, as well as a potential $15,000 fine.
  • To a minor: This is a felony charge that may warrant up to 7 years of incarceration, as well as a potential $5,000 fine.

Contact our experienced New York firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts