Memorial Day DWIs in New York | What Should I Know?

Memorial Day DWIs in New York | What Should I Know?

Memorial Day unfortunately marks a heightened risk for drunk driving on the roads of New York. If you have been charged with a DWI over the long weekend, you are likely seeking the services of an experienced New York criminal attorney. You will require an understanding a knowledgeable attorney who can walk you through the legal process ahead. Continue reading to discover the penalties for DWIs in the state of New York and how our firm can assist you after being charged. Reach out to our firm today with any questions you might have regarding your DWI charges. We are prepared to fight for your rights. Schedule an initial consultation today.

What are the penalties of a first offense DWI?

Drivers who are charged with a first offense DWI and are under the legal drinking age of 21 can face the following penalties:

  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation

Individuals over the age of 21 can face the following consequences if they are caught drinking and driving in New York:

  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Fines from $500-$1000
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the penalties of second offense DWIs?

Drivers under the age of 21 who are charged with a second DWI can face the following consequences:

  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • A civil penalty of $125
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation

Drivers who are 21 or older charged with a second offense DWI will face the following penalties:

  • Possible jail time up to 4 years
  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

What are the penalties of third offense DWIs?

Drivers charged with a DWI for the third time within 10 years can face the following penalties for their actions:

  • Jail sentence of up to 7 years
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibility of license being permanently revoked
  • $2,000-$10,000 in fines
  • State surcharges

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • All drug crime penalties are severe in New York. Reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney to fight for your rights. 
  • Continue reading to discover what civil asset forfeiture is in New York, how law enforcement can seize your property, and how to proceed with a case. 
  • Continue reading to discover the penalties for DWIs in the state of New York and how our firm can assist you after being charged.