Cell Phone Violations Attorney in Suffern, NY
Today, many vehicles offer hands-free options so drivers can safely make calls and send texts without taking their eyes off the road. With that said, cell phone use is still rampant amongst drivers in Rockland County and across New York State. Law enforcement takes this very seriously, as a significant portion of accidents occur due to distracted driving. If you have been issued a ticket for a cell phone violation in New York State, you must retain the services of an attorney who can fight these accusations on your behalf to help you avoid fines and points on your driving record. For over 30 years, Attorney Carl Spector of The Law Office of Carl Spector has provided quality legal defense to clients facing criminal charges and traffic tickets, including cell phone violations. Contact our office today to discuss your case.
Consequences of a Cell Phone Violation
In New York State, cell phone violations are taken very seriously. The breakdown of penalties for a cell phone violation in New York are as follows:
- A first offense cell phone violation is punishable by a fine between $50 and $200, as well as 5 points added to your license.
- A second offense cell phone violation within 18 months of a previous violation is punishable by a fine between $50 and $250, as well as 5 points added to your license.
- A third or subsequent offense cell phone violation within 18 months is punishable by a fine between $50 and $450, as well as 5 points added to your license.
The Impact of Accumulating Points in New York
If you have points on your license, you can face additional penalties, such as fines and increased insurance premiums. If you accumulate 6 or more points within 18 months, you will be subject to the Driver Responsibility Assessment, which is a $100 fine each year for 3 subsequent years. You should also note that if you accumulate 11 points on your driving record, you may have your license suspended. Additionally, if you are a probationary or junior driver with a Class DJ or MJ driver’s license or a learners’ permit, you will have your driving privileges suspended for 120 days. Another ticket within 6 months will subject you to a revocation of your driving privileges for at least 1 year after the initial suspension is over. With so much at stake, you need an attorney that can protect your interests.
Contact a Rockland County Cell Phone Violations Attorney
If you have been issued a cell phone violation in New York State, you must hire an attorney you can count on to fight the ticket. For over 30 years, Attorney Spector of The Law Office of Carl Spector has proudly represented clients facing repercussions for traffic offenses throughout Rockland County. If you need an attorney who will aggressively fight for your rights, contact The Law Office of Carl Spector to discuss your case.