Driving Without a License Attorney in Suffern, NY
All drivers in New York State are required to have a valid driver’s license. Those that drive without a license, whether they never had one or it was suspended or revoked, can face significant penalties. Anyone who knew that they should not have been driving but chooses to anyway can face a ticket for the aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle. A ticket of this nature is quite significant and should not be taken lightly. If you have been issued a ticket for driving without a license in New York State, you can count on The Law Office of Carl Spector to defend you in court. Our firm has over 30 years of experience proudly representing clients in all matters related to criminal defense and traffic violations. Contact The Law Office of Carl Spector today to discuss your case.
Driving Without a License Charges
As mentioned earlier, there are two different routes that not having a valid license can take. You can be charged with the aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle if you knew or should have reasonably known that your license has been revoked or suspended. However, in situations where you were legitimately unaware of an issue with your driver’s license, you may only face a simple traffic infraction that can be fixed quite easily and often only results in a fine between $75 and $300 and/or up to 15 days in jail. Of course, the first offense is much more serious than the latter.
Consequences of an AUO Conviction
The aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle is a misdemeanor if it is in the second or third degree. However, a first-degree charge of this nature is a Class E felony. The penalties for offenses of this nature include the following:
- AUO in the third degree is punishable by fines between $200 and $500 and/or up to 30 days of imprisonment
- A second-degree AUO offense is issued when a driver has had a previous offense within the last 18 months, a suspension due to a DUI or chemical test refusal, among other situations
- A first-degree AUO offense is a class E felony, which is punishable by a fine between $500 and $5000 and/or possible incarceration from 1 to 4 years
Contact a Rockland County Driving Without a License Attorney
If you have been charged with any variation of driving without a license offense in New York State, it is important that you retain quality legal representation. The Law Office of Carl Spector is here to guide you through each step of the process and can explore all possible defenses on your behalf. Attorney Carl Spector has over 30 years of experience proudly representing clients across Rockland County when they are faced with criminal charges or traffic violations. For strong legal representation when you need it most, contact The Law Office of Carl Spector today to discuss your case.