Rockland County Reckless Driving Attorney

Rockland County Reckless Driving Attorney

Reckless Driving Attorney in Suffern, NY

Reckless driving is one of the worst traffic violations that an individual can face in New York. This is a misdemeanor offense that can result in significant consequences that are far more serious than a standard traffic ticket. If you have been charged with a reckless driving offense in New York, it is important to retain the services of an experienced traffic violations attorney who can effectively defend your interests. For over 30 years, Attorney Carl Spector has proudly represented clients across Rockland County when they are facing significant charges, including those related to reckless driving. For quality legal representation when you need it most, contact The Law Office of Carl Spector today.

What is Reckless Driving?

If you have been charged with reckless driving, it is important to have an understanding of exactly what this means. The state of New York defines reckless driving as driving a vehicle “in a manner which unreasonably interferes with the free and proper use of the public highway, or unreasonably endangers users of the public highway.”

Consequences of Reckless Driving in NY

If you have been accused of reckless driving in New York State, you may face significant penalties upon conviction. The consequences of reckless driving include the following:

  • A first offense reckless driving conviction is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or fines between $100 and $300, as well as 5 points on your license.
  • A second offense reckless driving conviction within 18 months of a previous offense is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or fines between $100 and $525, as well as 5 points on your license.
  • A third offense reckless driving conviction within 18 months is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or fines between $100 and $1,125, as well as 5 points on your license.

Consequences of Accumulating Points

When you accumulate points on your license, you may face a range of additional penalties that are often financial in nature. It is important to note that if you have accumulated points on your license, you may face increased insurance premiums. In New York State, if you have accumulated 6 or more points on your license within 18 months, you can face a $100 fine each year for 3 years. Additionally, if you have accumulated 11 points on your license within 18 months, you may have your license suspended.

Contact a Rockland County Reckless Driving Attorney

Have you been charged with reckless driving in New York State? If so, the best thing you can do is retain the services of an experienced traffic violations attorney. Attorney Carl Spector of The Law Office of Carl Spector has over 30 years of experience effectively defending clients who are facing a variety of criminal and traffic violations. Contact The Law Office of Carl Spector today for strong legal representation when you need it most.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • Read this blog to learn more about marijuana-related charges in New York State and how our NY criminal defense attorney can help you fight them. 
  • Read this blog and speak with our New York CDL DWI attorney today to learn more about how he can help you fight your CDL DWI charges. 
  • Read this blog and speak with our Rockland County DWI attorney to learn more about Labor Day DWIs in New York and how our firm can help you.