What consequences may I face if I am convicted of a DUI on Halloween?

Halloween is a fun holiday for both children and adults. Adults use Halloween as an excuse to let loose. They attend Halloween parties hosted by friends where alcohol is typically consumed. They might push past their limits and get too drunk to get behind the wheel. Individuals may only have one drink but even one drink can affect your ability to drive. When you get behind the wheel while intoxicated you are endangering everyone including yourself.  As a driver, you have a responsibility to abide by the rules of the road. If you neglect to abide by these rules by getting behind the wheel while under the influence of illegal substances you will have to face reasonable consequences.  If you make the mistake of getting behind the wheel while under the influence of alcohol and/or drug and are charged with a DUI, contact a skilled and determined Rockland County DUI Attorney who can fight for you. 

What types of penalties could I be faced with for a DUI on Halloween?

In New York, the consequences you face for a DUI depend on whether it is your first offense. If this is your first conviction, it will most likely result in a misdemeanor. If this is your second or third conviction, you are looking at a felony. Driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is illegal in New York and guilty parties will be held accountable for their irresponsible actions. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may face the minimum or maximum penalties. If this is your first conviction you may be faced with one year in jail, $1,000 in fines, and a six-month license revocation. If this is your second conviction of a DUI in the state of New York, you will be faced with one to four years in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, and a one-year license revocation. If you are convicted for the third time, you will face one to seven years in jail, up to $10,000 in fines, and a permanent revocation of your license. If you are convicted of a DUI in New York you may face serious punishment.

Should I speak with an attorney after a DUI charge?

It is in your best interest to seek legal assistance from an attorney after being charged with a DWI in New York, especially if this is not your first offense. Penalties range from a misdemeanor to a felony. The consequences for drunk driving may result in fines, license revocation, probation, jail time, or an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). Speaking with an attorney can only help your case. Allow us to represent you during this difficult time. Don’t hesitate to contact one of our qualified and devoted team members who can help defend your rights.