Though states across the country have legalized the recreational use of marijuana, New York State is not yet one of them, and as such, if you are convicted of a marijuana-related charge, there is a very good chance that you will face significant legal consequences. Though the state has recently moved to decriminalize low-level possession of the drug, there are still penalties that may affect your life for years to come if you are caught in possession of a more significant amount. Please continue reading and reach out to our experienced New York criminal defense attorney to learn more about the potential penalties for a marijuana-related charge, as well as how our firm can help you fight those penalties. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I am caught with marijuana in New York State?
As mentioned earlier, if you are caught in possession of 28 grams or less, it is no more than a civil penalty, and you should face a simply $50 fine. For possessing no more than 2 ounces, you will face a $200 fine. That being said, there are still various criminal penalties for marijuana possession, and they are as follows:
- Up to 8 ounces: Misdemeanor, up to 1 year of incarceration, potential $1,000 fine.
- Up to 1 pound: Felony, up to 4 years of incarceration jail, potential $5,000 fine.
- Up to 10 pounds: Felony, up to 7 years of incarceration, potential $5,000 fine.
- More than 10 pounds: Felony, up to 15 years of incarceration, potential $15,000 fine.
Nobody wants to risk going to jail and carrying the burdens of a criminal record, which is why if you are facing these consequences, you must reach out to our firm today. We are here to help you.
What are the penalties for selling marijuana in NYS?
If you are someone who has been caught selling marijuana, you are facing a wide array of serious penalties. They are as follows:
- 25 grams of less: Misdemeanor, 1 year of jail time, potential $1,000 fine.
- Up to 4 ounces: Felony, up to 4 years in jail, potential %4,000 fine.
- Up to 1 pound: Felony, up to 7 years in jail, potential $5,000 fine.
- More than 1 pound: Felony, up to 15 years in jail, potential $15,000 fine.
- To a minor: Felony, up to 7 years of jail time, potential $5,000 fine.
If you are currently facing drug charges in New York State, you must not wait another day. Give us a call today. We are ready to fight for your rights.
Contact our experienced New York firm
Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.