What Happens if I Get an Aggravated DWI in New York State?

What Happens if I Get an Aggravated DWI in New York State?

As you may know, DWIs are among the most damaging traffic-related offenses that an individual can face, and in many cases, receiving a DWI will result in you losing your license, installing the ignition interlock device, paying high fines, and even going to jail. That being said, if you were charged with an aggravated DWI in New York, it means that you were caught operating your vehicle with a blood alcohol content of higher than .18% (more than twice the legal limit of .08%), and for this crime, you will face even harsher penalties than those that come with standard DWIs. Please continue reading to learn more about aggravated DWIs and how our Rockland County criminal defense attorney can help if you’ve been charged with one. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I am charged with a first-offense aggravated DWI in NY?

Even if this is only your first aggravated DWI charge in New York, you can expect to face a wide array of very serious consequences. For example, you will most likely lose your license for at least one year, you will have to pay a potential $5,000 fine, and you may even have to spend up to one year in jail, among other penalties.

What are the penalties for a second-offense aggravated DWI in New York State?

For a second offense, you can bet that you will now be treated as a repeat offender, meaning you will face even harsher charges than for a first offense. For a second offense in New York, you will most likely face the following penalties:

  • Up to 4 years of incarceration
  • You may have to pay a potential $5,000 fine
  • You will lose your license for at least 18 months

How long will I go to jail for a third aggravated DWI in NYS?

For a third aggravated DWI in New York, you can expect to go to jail for up to seven years. You will also most likely lose your license for 18 months, at the very least, and you will have to pay fines of anywhere between $2,000 and $10,000. If you have any additional questions, or you’ve been charged with an aggravated DWI and need an attorney to represent you, our firm is here to help. All you have to do is give us a call.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts