What You Need to Know About DWIs With CDLs in New York State

What You Need to Know About DWIs With CDLs in New York State

There are few things more damaging to a reputation, and, in this case, a career, than receiving a DWI with a CDL. Please read on and reach out to our experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney today to learn more about how we can help you through every step of the legal process going forward.

How does NYS define a commercial vehicle?

For a vehicle to be designated a commercial vehicle in NYS, it must meet one of the following qualifications:

  • It must have a gross weight rating of more than 26,000 pounds
  • It must be defined by the Vehicle and Traffic Law as a Bus
  • It must be used to transport 15 or more passengers
  • It must transport certain hazardous materials

What happens if I get a first-offense DWI with a CDL in Rockland County?

New York State is notoriously harsh on all those being charged with DWIs. That being said, if you are a commercial driver and are arrested for operating your vehicle while having a Blood Alcohol Content of .04% or higher (not .08% like other drivers) you will most likely have your license revoked. Furthermore, at the time of your arrest, if you are found to have been transporting hazardous materials, you will most likely lose your CDL for three years. If you were driving under the influence at the time you were pulled over, you may be tempted to refuse to take the breathalyzer test. Unfortunately, this rarely works in your favor, and in most circumstances, you will lose your CDL for 18 months, and you will lose your standard license for a period of time as well.

What happens if I am charged with a second or subsequent CDL DWI offense in New York?

If this is your second DWI with a CDL, you will probably lose your CDL for at least 10 years, face significant fines, and potentially lose your regular license for a long period of time as well. These are very serious charges, and if you are facing them, you absolutely need an experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney.

Can I get a conditional license after receiving a DWI with a CDL?

Oftentimes, after receiving DWIs, many people will seek conditional licenses that will allow them to commute to work and school. Unfortunately, if you are convicted of a DWI with a CDL, you will not be eligible to obtain a conditional license.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts