Is Driving Without Auto Insurance a Crime in New York?

In today’s economic climate, auto insurance can be expensive, especially for those with a less-than-perfect driving record. Nonetheless, all drivers are required to maintain active auto insurance coverage to operate a vehicle in New York. It’s a common misconception that driving without insurance is a relatively insignificant matter, but that’s not the case. Driving without insurance is a serious traffic violation that can result in steep penalties. A conviction can follow you for years to come. As such, it’s crucial to enlist the help of a seasoned Rockland County Traffic Violations Attorney who can help you avoid the consequences of this offense. Please continue reading to learn the penalties you could face for driving without insurance in New York. 

Do All Drivers Have to Carry Auto Insurance in New York?

In New York, all drivers must purchase liability insurance and underinsured motorist coverage to register a vehicle in the state. New York is a no-fault state. This means in addition to acquiring liability coverage, drivers must purchase personal injury protection (PIP). Each state has its minimum requirements for drivers regarding auto insurance. The minimum requirements for auto insurance in New York are as follows:

  • $25,000 boldly injury liability per person and $50,000 death liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident and $10,000 death liability per accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $50,000 PIP
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident

What Are the Potential Penalties for Driving Without Insurance?

If you’re found driving a car without insurance, you could face steep fines, the loss of your license, additional surcharges, an impounded vehicle, and even possible jail time. The insurance company must notify the Department of Motor Vehicles if your insurance policy lapses. If you no longer have insurance, you must turn in your vehicle registration and license plates to the DMV and refrain from driving. If you fail, you could face a penalty of up to $1,500 each time you drive without insurance or let another person drive your uninsured vehicle. It’s also possible your car will be impounded, and you could face imprisonment for up to 15 days. Furthermore, you may have your driver’s license and registration revoked. If you lose your driving privileges, you will incur a $750 reinstatement fee.

If you or someone you love is facing a charge for driving without insurance, please don’t hesitate to contact a talented Rockland County traffic violation attorney who can help you navigate your legal options. At The Law Office of Carl Spector, we are prepared to defend your rights and fight to prevent harsh penalties. Allow our legal team to represent your interests today to achieve favorable results.