Rockland County DUI Attorney

Rockland County DUI Attorney

DUI Attorney in Suffern, NY

DUI charges in New York State should not be taken lightly. These offenses can result in serious repercussions that follow a driver for the rest of his or her life. If you are facing DUI charges in New York, you can count on The Law Office of Carl Spector to explore all possible defenses on your behalf to protect you from an uncertain future. Attorney Spector has over 30 years of experience proudly representing clients throughout Rockland County when they are facing charges of this nature. For strong legal representation when it matters most, contact The Law Office of Carl Spector today.

Blood Alcohol Content

If law enforcement stops you because they suspect you are driving under the influence, they will generally ask you to take a breathalyzer test to determine your Blood Alcohol Content, or BAC. The state of New York considers the following groups impaired based on certain BAC levels. These include:

  • Anyone over the age of 21 with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher
  • Anyone over the age of 21 who is driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 percent or higher
  • Anyone who is younger than 21 and has a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher

First Offense DUI

If you are facing charges for a first offense DUI and are over the age of 21, you may be subject to the following penalties:

  • A revoked license for at least 6 months
  • Possible fines ranging from $500-$1,000
  • Possible jail time up to 1 year
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP) and applicable costs

If you are charged with a DUI while under the age of 21, you may face the following penalties:

  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • A $125 civil penalty
  • A $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP) and associated costs
  • Potential ignition interlock device installation and associated costs

Second Offense DUI

Of course, the penalties for a DUI can be even more serious if you have had a previous conviction within the last 10 years. The consequences of a second offense DUI in New York State for a driver over the age of 21 are as follows:

  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • A $1,000-$5,000 fine
  • Potential jail time up to 4 year
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP) and associated costs

On the other hand, if you receive a second DUI while under the age of 21, you may face the following penalties:

  • A revoked license for one year or until the age of 21
  • A $125 civil penalty
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP) and associated costs
  • Potential ignition interlock device installation and associated costs

Third or Subsequent DUI Offense

If you have been charged with your third DUI offense in New York State within a 10-year period, you are facing very serious consequences. The consequences for a third or subsequent DUI offense in New York are as follows:

  • Fines ranging from $2,000 to $10,000
  • Up to 7 years in jail
  • Revoked license for at least 1 year (possibly permanent revocation)
  • Additional state surcharges

You should also note that if this is your third conviction within five years, you must serve a minimum of either 10 days in jail or 60 days of community service. You must also install an ignition interlock device in your car, as well as pay all related expenses.

DWAI

If you have been charged with a DWAI in New York, you should have an experienced New York DWAI Lawyer represent you and protect your driving record. In New York, one is ordinarily charged with both a DWI/DUI (driving while intoxicated) and a DWAI (driving while ability impaired). Prosecutors do this because DWAI is a lesser included offense. However, a DWAI is not a crime. It is a traffic infraction. The consequences of DWAI are not as severe as DWI. A DWAI conviction does not count as a prior DWI because a conviction for a DWAI is a traffic infraction. Technically speaking, a blood alcohol content level around 0.06%-0.07% is considered a DWAI. Therefore, a DWAI may be a viable plea bargain option for a person arrested with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more. The penalties for the various DWAI offenses are as follows:

  • Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI by alcohol) fine ranges from $300 to $500, up to 15 days in jail, and a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license;
  • Driving While Impaired by a Drug (DWAI-Drug) fine ranges from $500 to $1,000, up to 1 year in jail, driver’s license suspension for at least six months;
  • Driving While Ability Impaired by a Combination of Alcohol/Drugs (DWAI-Combination) fine ranges from $500 to $1,000, up to 1 year in jail, driver’s license revocation for at least six months.

DUI Defenses

If you are facing DUI charges, you must hire an experienced attorney to explore all possible defenses on your behalf. At The Law Office of Carl Spector, we will assess whether you were stopped illegally by law enforcement, whether the field sobriety tests were issued lawfully, and more. With over 30 years of experience, Attorney Spector has what it takes to defend your future.

Contact a New York DUI Defense Attorney

It is no secret that New York aims to keep drunk drivers off the roads to protect innocent drivers and passengers around them. If you are facing DUI charges, you must retain the services of an experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney. The Law Office of Carl Spector recognizes how much of your future is at stake when you are charged with a DUI. Whether this is your first, third, or subsequent DUI, you can put your trust in our firm to explore all possible defenses on your behalf. Contact The Law Office of Carl Spector today to learn how we can assist you.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  • If you were charged with a DUI this Thanksgiving Weekend, read this blog and contact our firm to learn more about the consequences of DUIs in New York. 
  • Read this blog and speak with our Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn about the consequences of a DWI with a minor in the vehicle. 
  • Read this and speak with our Rockland County criminal defense attorney to learn about juvenile crimes and how he can help if your child is charged with one.