To learn more about the consequences of leaving the scene of an accident in New York, continue reading and reach out to our skilled Rockland County criminal defense attorneys today.
What is leaving the scene of an accident charge?
The state of New York takes leaving the scene of an accident very seriously and those charged will likely face serious consequences. After an accident, it is critical that you stop your vehicle and exchange insurance information with the other party. Additionally, if either of you calls the police to the scene, you must wait for them to arrive.
In the event that you leave the scene of an accident without exchanging insurance information or if you do not wait for the police to arrive after an accident, you will likely face severe legal consequences. This also includes traditional hit-and-run accidents when the driver responsible for an accident strikes another vehicle and flees the scene. If you are in a parking lot or strike an empty vehicle or another object, you must make a good faith effort to locate the owner or to make sure that your insurance information is left. You can do this by putting your insurance information on the vehicle for the other driver to find. You should exchange information even if a minor damage is done to the vehicle. You must also inform the police of the accident. The police will let you know whether or not they will come to the scene of the accident for a police report or if you are able to leave.
What can happen if you leave the scene of an accident in New York?
Leaving the scene of an accident in New York can result in the following:
- Fines of between $0 and $250 for property damage and between $250 and $5,000 for personal injury.
- A surcharge of $88 to $93 if a driver leaves the scene of an accident.
- Jail time, depending on the circumstances of the accident. This can mean up to 15 days in jail for a driver who just leaves the scene of an accident involving property damage.
- Leaving the scene of an accident in New York involving personal injury is a criminal offense, which implies that you can get a criminal record if sentenced.
- Leaving the scene of the accident will add 3 points to your license. If you leave the scene of an accident with injuries, you may also lose your license for up to a year.
- Your insurance rates can be increased for a conviction to this offense.
To learn more about this offense, reach out to our skilled Rockland County criminal defense attorneys today.
Contact our experienced Rockland County firm
Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.