What You Need to Know About Speeding Tickets in New York State

What You Need to Know About Speeding Tickets in New York State

If you are someone who recently received a speeding ticket, you are most likely wondering what to do. Should you just please guilty and take the penalty? Should you plead not guilty and see what happens? In many cases, people do the latter, and they do not hire an attorney. However, depending on your situation, this may not be the best move. Please continue reading and speak with our knowledgeable Rockland County traffic violation attorney to learn more about speeding tickets and how our skilled firm can help you fight one, potentially saving you money and serious repercussions in the long run. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I receive a speeding ticket in New York?

If you receive a speeding ticket, there is a very good chance that you will obtain points on your license. The amount of points you receive largely depends on how fast you were traveling at the time you were issued your ticket. The point system for speeding tickets in New York State is as follows:

  • 1-10 miles per hour over the speed limit: This is a 3 point violation
  • 11-20 miles per hour over the speed limit: This is a 4 point violation
  • 21-30 miles per hour over the speed limit: This is a 6 point violation
  • 31-40 miles per hour over the speed limit: This is an 8 point violation
  • 41+ miles per hour over the speed limit: This is an 11 point violation

That being said, you should understand that if you receive 11 points in 18 months, you will most likely have your license suspended. Additionally, any amount of points on your license will most likely cause your insurance premiums to spike, which, in effect, means that you will be paying for your speeding ticket for months or years to come.

What are the fines for speeding tickets in New York?

When you receive a speeding ticket, on top of other penalties, you will most likely have to pay high fines. Additionally, if you are someone who has received at least 6 points on your license within the last 18 months, you will have to pay a $100 yearly surcharge for three years. This is the Driver Responsibility Assessment. Every point you receive after those 6 will be an additional $25 fine. Our firm is here to fight your speeding ticket so you do not have to worry about such fines. All you have to do is give us a call.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts