Fourth of July DWIs in New York | What do I Need to Know?

Fourth of July DWIs in New York | What do I Need to Know?

Fourth of July is a holiday that is filled with family fun, barbequing, and beer. However, this holiday also marks a heightened risk for DWIs in the state of New York. New York does not take DWI charges lightly and will result in severe penalties. If you have been charged with a DWI over the Fourth of July weekend, it is time to reach out to a knowledgeable New York criminal defense attorney to explore your options. To begin this process, do not hesitate to reach out to our firm to learn more about how we can fight for your rights in court. Continue reading to discover the penalties for first, second, and third offense DWIs.

First-Offense DWI Penalties

If you are charged with a first-offense DWI in New York you may face the following penalties if you are over the age of 21:

  • Fines from $500-$1000
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Revoked license for a minimum of 6 months
  • Possible jail time up to 1 year

However, if you are charged with a first-offense DWI while under the legal drinking age (21) you may face the following consequences:

  • Ignition interlock device installation
  • Enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Suspended license for 6 months
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • A civil penalty of $125

Second-Offense DWI Consequences

Second-offense DWI penalties for individuals who are 21 or older include the following:

  • Revoked license for at least one year
  • Jail time up to 4 years
  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program

If you are charged with a DWI for a second time and you are under the age of 21 you may face the following consequences:

  • A civil penalty of $125
  • Revoked license for at least one year, or until the offender turns 21
  • A $100 fee to reinstate your license
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation

Third-Offense DWI Penalties

Being charged with a third-offense DWI within 10 years may result in the following penalties:

  • State surcharges
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • Possibility of license being permanently revoked
  • $2,000-$10,000 in fines
  • Jail sentence of up to 7 years

If you are facing any of the above charges, it is time to reach out to our knowledgeable criminal defense attorney.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts