Police Will Be Looking For Drunk Drivers This Memorial Day

Police Will Be Looking For Drunk Drivers This Memorial Day

Memorial Day is a day of celebration, and, as such, many people will be getting behind the wheel after having one too many. Though the smartest thing to do, is, of course, not drink and drive, many people do so anyway. If you are arrested for a DWI in New York State, you must read on and reach out to our experienced New York criminal defense attorney today to learn more about how our firm can help you through every step of the legal process ahead. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I get a DWI in New York?

If this is your first offense, you will still need the assistance of an experienced Rockland County criminal defense attorney to help avoid the following consequences:

  • A revoked license for at least 6 months
  • Fines ranging from $500-$1,000
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)

What happens if I am charged with a DWI while under the age of 21?

If you are charged with a DWI while under the age of 21, you will face the following:

  • A 6-month license suspension
  • A $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)
  • Potential installation and use of the ignition interlock device
  • A $125 civil penalty

What are the consequences of a second DWI in New York?

If this is your second DWI in the last 10 years, the court will now treat you as a repeat offender, and you will, therefore, face even harsher consequences this time around. The penalties for a second DWI in NYS are as follows:

  • A revoked license for at least 1 year
  • A potential $5,000 fine
  • Up to 4 years in jail
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP)

What happens if I am charged with a third DWI in New York State?

If this is your third DWI in New York State, you cannot proceed without aggressive legal representation from a Rockland County criminal defense attorney who has helped individuals in similar situations for years. You will most likely face the following:

  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • Up to 7 years of incarceration
  • A revoked license for at least 1 year (possibly permanent revocation)
  • Additional state surcharges

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts