What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in New York?

What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in New York?

New York takes traffic violations very seriously, which is why reckless driving charges can be severe. If you were charged with reckless driving, it is in your best interest to reach out to our experienced New York criminal defense attorneys to discuss your options. Our firm is dedicated to fighting for you and your rights.

What is reckless driving in New York?

Reckless driving is defined as “operating a motor vehicle in a manner that unreasonably interferes with the free and proper use of the public highway, or unreasonably endangers users of the public highway.” In New York, if you are charged with reckless driving, you will likely face serious penalties as a result.

What happens if I am charged with reckless driving in New York?

You can face harsh life-altering consequences if you are convicted of reckless driving in New York. It is also important to note that the penalties will increase as the amount of additional reckless driving offenses increases. The penalties for reckless driving in New York include the following:

  • First offense: You may spend up to 30 days in jail and face fines between $100 and $300. You may also receive up to 5 points on your license.
  • Second offense within 18 months of a previous offense: You may spend up to 90 days in jail and face fines between $100 and $525. You will most likely also receive up to 5 points on your license.
  • Third offense within 18 months of the first: You may spend up to 180 days in jail and face fines between $100 and $1,125. You may also receive up to 5 points on your license.

What will happen if I get points on my driver’s license?

The first thing that might happen if you receive points on your license is that your insurance premiums will increase. This can indicate that your reckless driving ticket will cause you to have months or even years of expenses. Additionally, if someone accumulates 6 or more points on their license within 18 months, they will likely need to pay a $100 annually fine for 3 years. Further, if you have accumulated 11 or more points on your license within 18 months, you may also face license suspension.

Contact our experienced New York firm today to discuss your options and how you can best fight these charges. Our firm is prepared to fight for you and your future.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts