What Will Happen if I Get a Labor Day DWI in New York State?

What Will Happen if I Get a Labor Day DWI in New York State?

Labor Day is meant to relax and enjoy a drink or two with friends and family. However, it is not intended for people to get behind the wheel and drive under the influence of alcohol. If you were charged with a DWI this Labor Day, it is in your best interest to reach out to one of our experienced New York criminal defense attorneys as soon as possible. Our firm is prepared to defend you and create a strategy to combat your criminal charges.

What will happen if I get a DWI in New York State?

If this is your first DWI offense, it is unlikely that you will go to jail, however, it is still possible that you can spend up to one year in jail. New York takes DWIs very seriously, which is why you cannot risk getting one. Some additional penalties you may face for a first-offense DWI in New York include:

  • A 6-month license revocation
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP), at your own cost

What are the consequences for a second offense DWI in New York State?

If you have received your second DWI in the last 10 years, you may be subject to even harsher consequences. They are as follows:

  • A $5,000 fine
  • A potential 4-year jail sentence
  • A 1-year license revocation
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Impaired Driver Program (IDP), at your own cost

Will I go to jail for a third or subsequent DWI charge in New York State?

If you have accumulated a third or subsequent DWI charge, it is critical that you retain the services of an experienced New York State criminal defense attorney. If you do not have a skilled attorney on your side, you risk facing the following consequences:

  • A 7-year jail sentence
  • A years-long license suspension that can affect your life for years to come
  • Up to $10,000 in fines, compounded by additional state surcharges.

It is important to take note of these charges and understand that the effects of these penalties can last beyond the time and money you spend serving your time. Whether it is your first, second, third, or fourth DWI charge, you must contact our firm today. The Law Office of Carl Spector has over 30 years of criminal defense work under our belt and we are prepared to use that experience to help you.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts