What You Need to Know About the Ignition Interlock Device in NYS

What You Need to Know About the Ignition Interlock Device in NYS

If you are someone who was recently arrested for a DWI, you are most likely looking at a wide array of potential penalties that may change your life for years to come. Unfortunately, one mistake can result in very serious repercussions. Among high fines, the loss of your license, and potential jail time, you may also have to install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for a period of time. Doing so can be embarrassing, and it is also a huge burden. This is why if you are currently facing DWI charges in New York, you must continue reading and retain the services of an experienced New York criminal defense attorney who can work to fight your charges, every step of the way. Here are some of the questions you may have about the ignition interlock device:

What does the ignition interlock device do?

If you are someone who has been convicted of a DWI and you were required to install the ignition interlock device in your car, you will have to provide a breath sample into the ignition interlock device every single time you go to start your vehicle. If you blow into the device with a BAC above .025%, you will not be able to start your car. Furthermore, as you drive, the ignition interlock device will require you to continuously and sporadically provide breath samples. If you fail to provide a breath sample when required, an alarm will be sounded and demand that you pull over. These devices frequently have cameras on them, so you cannot ask a passenger to provide a breath sample, and if you try anything to get around providing a legitimate breath sample, you will most likely get caught. Furthermore, if a passenger is caught trying to help a driver pass the test, he or she may be charged with a Class A misdemeanor.

What are the chances I will have to install an interlock device if convicted of a DWI?

Even if this is only your first offense, there is a very good chance that you will be required to install the device within 10 days of your conviction, at your own cost. From here, you must let the court know that you have installed the device within three days of the installation. For any further questions, give us a call today.

Contact our experienced Rockland County firm

Those facing criminal charges in New York need a strong Rockland County defense attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system. Fortunately, our firm is ready to put over 30 years of experience to work for you. Call today or contact The Law Office of Carl Spector online to schedule a free confidential consultation. We are ready to help you go on living life positively, happily, and free from the burdens of a criminal conviction–all you have to do is ask.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts